16 October 2026 · 16 min read
Apps That Teach Kids About Money: What the Lessons Actually Are (2026)
Every “best app to teach kids about money” list ranks the same products and none of them says what a lesson is: a quiz, a video, a mission, a story, or nothing at all. We read each vendor’s own page and its app-store listing on 16 October 2026 and put the whole market in one table sorted by what the child is taught, with the three meta-analyses that say how much any of it can do.
The short version
- Of the four best-known kids’ card apps, two carry a lesson layer and two carry none. Greenlight Level Up and Acorns Early Money Missions are short videos followed by quiz questions, both built on the Jump$tart and Council for Economic Education national standards. BusyKid and NatWest Rooster Money describe no lessons, quizzes or videos for children anywhere on their sites or store listings; the card is the lesson.
- Goalsetter, still recommended in most 2026 lists for its weekly quiz that froze the card until a child took it, closed every consumer account on 13 February 2026 and now sells its lessons to schools and banks.
- Only one vendor publishes a count of its content: Acorns Early says 110 lessons across three levels, and since January 2026 more than 80 of them are free on YouTube without the $8-a-month subscription. Greenlight gives no number of challenges or levels.
- The free options that autocomplete asks for are mostly not apps: the CFPB’s Money as You Grow (activities and 16 picture books with reading guides, ages 3 to young adult), Visa’s Practical Money Skills (36 K-12 lesson plans) and Topmarks’ browser coin games for 3-to-11s in the UK.
- The research says lessons move knowledge more than behaviour. Across 76 randomised experiments, financial education raised knowledge by about 0.20 standard deviations and behaviour by about 0.10; for children under 14 the behaviour effect was 0.06 (Kaiser, Lusardi, Menkhoff and Urban, 2022). None of those experiments tested an app.
Type “is there an app that teaches kids about money” into a search engine or an AI assistant and the answer is a list: Greenlight, Acorns Early, BusyKid, Goalsetter, Rooster Money, each with a price and a star rating. None of them says what happens when a child taps “Learn”. In two of those five it is a short video followed by quiz questions, in two there is no lesson at all, and the fifth closed its consumer app in February 2026.
For every product we read the vendor’s own page and, where the site refused us, the App Store or Google Play listing, on 16 October 2026, and recorded six things: the age range, what a lesson actually is, who writes it, how much of it exists, what the store’s privacy label says about a child’s data, and the price. Our own product, CapKin, is in the table with its limits stated first. The money-apps article sorts the same market by what you pay and what the child holds; this one sorts it by what the child is taught.
What counts as a lesson
Reading the vendor pages side by side, the teaching in a kids’ money app takes one of five shapes. The shape tells you more about what your child will get than the price does.
- A video and a quiz. A short animated clip, then multiple-choice, true-or-false or scenario questions, with points for correct answers. This is Greenlight Level Up and Acorns Early Money Missions, and it was Goalsetter. It is the school model, shortened to phone length.
- A story. An illustrated episode with a character, one idea per episode, a gentle check that the idea landed, and something to do away from the screen. This is CapKin’s Beaver Trails for 6-to-8s and, on paper, the CFPB’s picture-book reading guides.
- A maths game. Coins to sort, prices to pay, change to give. This is what Topmarks offers. It teaches the arithmetic of money; the decisions about money are a separate skill.
- An activity for a parent to run. A worksheet, a conversation starter, a lesson plan with a facilitator guide. The CFPB and Visa’s Practical Money Skills are this shape: the parent or teacher does the teaching, and the material is theirs to run.
- No lesson. The card, the chores and the balance are the teaching. BusyKid and Rooster Money are this shape, and their marketing says so if you read it closely: “hands-on experience managing invisible money”, “get to grips with money”.
The whole market on the learning axis
Everything below is from the vendor’s own page or its store listing, read on 16 October 2026. “Not stated” means we looked and the vendor does not say. Privacy entries quote the App Store label the developer filed; Apple notes these are not verified by Apple.
| App | Age | What a lesson is | Who writes it | How much there is | Ads and child data | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Greenlight Level Up | “Kids and teens”; no age floor stated | Challenges: a short video, then multiple-choice, true/false and scenario questions, with minigames. Coins, XP, stars and badges; a score under 70% costs a life | Greenlight’s own education team; built on the Jump$tart / Council for Economic Education national standards | Not stated: no count of challenges or levels anywhere on the vendor’s pages | Store label: identifiers used to track; data linked to the user includes purchases, financial info, precise location, contacts and search history, listed under the developer’s advertising or marketing | From $5.99/mo (Core); Max $9.98, Infinity $14.98, Family Shield $24.98. Level Up on all plans at launch |
| Acorns Early Money Missions | 6–18 | “Gamified educational quizzes and videos” | “Educator-designed”, built on the Jump$tart / CEE national standards; no educator named | 110 lessons across three levels; 80+ of them free on YouTube since January 2026 | Store label: identifiers and usage data used to track; financial info, contact info and contacts linked to the user | $8/mo (Lite) or $12/mo (Gold); the YouTube videos are free |
| BusyKid | 5–17 | None. No lessons, quizzes or videos are described on the site or the store listing; the site’s Education link leads to a third-party article | — | — | Store label: identifiers used to track; name, physical address, email and phone collected, filed as not linked to the user | $4/mo billed annually; “additional fees” may apply to the card |
| NatWest Rooster Money | Card 6–17; no age stated for the tracker | None for children. The card tier lists “educational content & resources”; what exists is parent guides on pocket money and needs versus wants | NatWest (World Learning Ltd) | — | Store label: payment info, coarse location, name, email and user content linked to the user, with the developer’s advertising or marketing among the purposes; no tracking category filed | Virtual Tracker labelled free; card £1.99/mo or £19.99/yr; up to three cards free for NatWest customers |
| Goalsetter | Was kindergarten to college | Was a weekly quiz with pop-culture questions; the card froze until the week’s quiz was taken, and parents could pay per correct answer | Goalsetter; “mapped to national financial literacy standards” (company claim) | Not stated | No longer relevant for families | Closed: all consumer accounts shut on 13 February 2026; now sold to schools and banks |
| Fiscally | 10–18 | Video lessons and quizzes on earning, spending, saving, sharing and investing, plus a budget builder and expense tracker the child fills in | Mayn Learning Inc; no author or standards named | Not stated; too few ratings for the store to show a score | Store label: email and user ID linked to the user; no tracking category filed | Free; iPhone only |
| CapKin | Story course 6–8; discoveries and quiz 8–12; English only; two of six chapters published | A story episode with read-aloud narration, one key idea, a three-question quiz that re-teaches a wrong answer, a try-it task and a question for the parent. For 8–12s, one discovery a day and a weekly quiz, on the child’s own pocket-money ledger | Hand-written in-house; no outside curriculum body and no standards alignment claimed. One weekly AI lesson from the child’s own figures, parent-previewable, off switch per child | 12 levels in two chapters; a pool of 300 discoveries; 104 weekly family questions | No ads; no push or email to children; stores a display name, an optional birth year, the child’s entries, goals and lesson and quiz activity | Free during beta; paid plans not announced; web app, no store listing |
| CFPB Money as You Grow (US, not an app) | Three bands: 3–5, school age to preteen, teen to young adult; bookshelf 4–10 | Activities, conversation starters and reading guides for a parent to run, not a screen lesson | US Consumer Financial Protection Bureau; adapted from Beth Kobliner’s Money as You Grow with university researchers | 16 picture books, 13 with downloadable reading guides; activities in earning, saving, planning and shopping per band | Government web page: no account, no app, no advertising | Free |
| Practical Money Skills by Visa (not an app) | Pre-K to college | Lesson plans with a facilitator guide, participant activity and slides for a teacher or parent to run; four Marvel comics with teacher’s guides; a football-themed quiz game | Visa | 36 K-12 lessons: 4 (Pre-K–2), 4 (3–6), 6 (7–8), 22 (9–12); plus 10 college and 10 for students with disabilities | Visa website; the cookie notice lists personalised marketing and advertising partners | Free |
| Topmarks (UK, not an app) | 3–5, 5–7, 7–11 | Browser maths games with coins and change: sorting, counting, paying, giving change, in GBP, USD, EUR and AUD | Topmarks Online Ltd, an independent UK company founded in 1998 | 7 money games on the 5–7 page; further games on the 3–5 and 7–11 pages | Website carries Google AdSense; the company’s apps have no adverts; policy states compliance with the UK Children’s Code | Free |
Two patterns in the table. First, the column most parents would want to read, how much there is, is empty for most of the paid apps; only Acorns Early and the free resources publish a count. Second, the products with the most lessons are not the ones with the most data: the one government resource asks a child for nothing at all, while the two card apps with lesson layers file store labels that include tracking identifiers and, in Greenlight’s case, precise location used for the developer’s own marketing.
Cards with a lesson layer: Greenlight and Acorns Early
Greenlight launched Level Up on 6 January 2023 as “the financial literacy game for kids and teens”, played inside the banking app. Each lesson is a challenge: a brief video, then a mix of multiple-choice, true-or-false and scenario questions, with minigames, and the player earns coins, XP and stars by the percentage answered correctly and a badge for reaching the next level. The programme terms, last updated 16 January 2024, add the detail the marketing leaves out: a score below 70% costs one of seven lives, lives reset after a waiting period, and the coins “are not cash or a cash equivalent” but can be exchanged for “other tangible rewards”. The curriculum covers earning, spending, saving, investing, credit, income and taxes, and Greenlight says it goes “beyond” the National Standards for Personal Financial Education written by the Jump$tart Coalition and the Council for Economic Education. What Greenlight does not publish, anywhere we could find, is how many challenges or levels exist, or an age floor; the App Store listing is rated 4+ and the page says only “kids and teens”.
Acorns Early, the former GoHenry US, is the one vendor that gives a number. Its product page lists “100+ educational Money Missions” on both the $8 Lite and $12 Gold plans, described as “bite-sized, award-winning money lessons”; the award is not named. A press release dated 21 January 2026 says the full curriculum is 110 lessons across three levels, adapted into more than 80 YouTube videos that are now free, built “in close partnership with the National Standards for Personal Financial Education” and “educator-designed”, though no educator is named. That release changes the arithmetic for a parent who wants the lessons and not the card: the videos no longer need the subscription. What the subscription still buys is the quiz layer wrapped around them in the app and the card to practise on.
Cards without one: BusyKid and Rooster Money
BusyKid is in almost every “apps that teach kids about money” list, and its own pages describe no lessons, quizzes or videos. The structure is a loop: parents set chores, allowance is paid on Fridays, a percentage goes to saving, a percentage to one of more than 60 charities, and the rest to a prepaid Visa, with stock investing from $10 a trade. The pricing page says a card gives “hands-on experience managing invisible money” and that parents can “watch them expand their financial knowledge”; the site’s Education link, when we followed it, led to a third-party article about cashless societies. The loop is a real lesson in waiting for Friday. What $4 a month billed annually buys is chores and a card. There is no course.
NatWest Rooster Money is the same shape in the UK. The card tier, £1.99 a month or £19.99 a year after a trial, lists “educational content & resources” among its features; what exists on the site is a set of parent guides on how much pocket money to give and talking about needs and wants. The free Virtual Tracker tier, which we covered in the money-apps article, is labelled free on the pricing page, though the same page shows a one-month-trial badge for the card beside it. Neither the website nor the App Store listing describes a lesson, a quiz or a video for a child. Rooster is a star chart, a pocket-money tracker and a card, and it is good at being those.
The one that closed: Goalsetter
Goalsetter had the most interesting lesson mechanic in the market and it is the reason it still appears in 2026 lists: a weekly financial literacy quiz, written around pop-culture memes and mapped to national standards, that a child had to pass before the Cashola debit card would work that week (“Learn Before You Burn”), with parents able to pay a small amount per correct answer (“Learn to Earn”). The plan was $3.95 a month after a 30-day trial. Then, in its own words on its FAQ page: “As of February 13, 2026, Goalsetter has closed all accounts and issued checks to the mailing address we have on file.” The company “has transitioned away from the Goalsetter app” to sell financial education to “school systems, financial institutions and other organizations”. On 16 October 2026 Apple’s own app lookup returned no iOS listing in the US, UK or Canadian stores; the Google Play listing was still live, last updated 25 November 2025.
If a list you are reading recommends Goalsetter to families, it was not checked this year. The mechanic that made it worth recommending, a lesson that gates spending, now exists in no consumer app we could find. The closest is Greenlight’s lives system, which gates replaying a challenge and leaves the card alone.
Teaching-only apps: Fiscally and CapKin
Fiscally is a free iPhone app from Mayn Learning Inc for ages 10 to 18. Its listing describes video lessons and quizzes across “earning, spending, saving, sharing, and investing” and, unusually, pairs them with tools the child fills in: a budget builder with monthly goals per category, an expense tracker, a totals view comparing budget to actual, and a wants-versus-needs calculator that scores a purchase. Parents can see progress, send lesson reminders and reward completed lessons with XP or an allowance paid outside the app. The listing had too few ratings for the App Store to show a score when we read it, and no lesson count is given. The privacy label is the lightest of any app here: an email address and a user ID linked to the user, nothing filed as tracking.
CapKin is ours, and its row starts with the limits: the story course is written for 6-to-8s and only two of its six chapters are published; the discoveries and weekly quiz are written for 8-to-12s; the interface is in English; there is no card and no app-store listing, since it runs in a browser and installs as a web app. What a lesson is, for a 6-to-8-year-old, is a level of Beaver Trails: an illustrated story episode with read-aloud narration, one key idea in a sentence, a three-question quiz in which a wrong answer re-teaches the fact and costs nothing, a try-it task to do away from the screen, and a question for the parent to ask at dinner. There are 12 levels across the two published chapters and a diploma at the end of each. For 8-to-12s a lesson is one discovery a day, a fact, tip or concept from a hand-written pool of 300, shown only when the child opens the app, plus a weekly three-question quiz drawn from what they were shown. On up to two days a week the day’s discovery may instead be written by an AI from the child’s own ledger figures; those never enter the fact book or the quiz. The whole layer sits on the child’s real pocket money, recorded by the child and approved by a parent, which is the part the debit-card article argues matters most before twelve.
Free, and not an app: CFPB, Visa and Topmarks
The best free material for “is there a free app that teaches kids about money” is not an app. The US Consumer Financial Protection Bureau’s Money as You Grow is a set of web pages for parents in three age bands, young children (3 to 5), school-age to preteens, and teens to young adults, each with activities in earning, saving, planning and shopping, conversation starters around real decisions (getting a pet, paying bills, paying with a credit card) and a bookshelf of 16 picture books for ages 4 to 10, 13 of them with downloadable reading guides. The CFPB says the programme is adapted, with permission, from Beth Kobliner’s Money as You Grow, recommended in 2010 by the President’s Advisory Council on Financial Capability, and built on research with the University of Wisconsin–Madison and the University of Maryland, Baltimore County. On the youngest band the CFPB says children aged 3 to 5 “are usually too young to understand abstract financial concepts”, so the activities at that age are about persistence and waiting.
Visa’s Practical Money Skills is the teacher’s version. Its educator pages, which block most automated readers and had to be read through a proxy, list 36 K-12 lesson plans, 4 for Pre-K to grade 2, 4 for grades 3 to 6, 6 for grades 7 to 8 and 22 for grades 9 to 12, each with a facilitator guide and a participant activity in PDF and, from grade 3, a slide deck; there are 10 more for college and 10 for students with disabilities. It also offers four Marvel comics with teacher’s guides and a football-themed quiz game Visa says has been played 20 million times. Everything is free. Two caveats: the site is a Visa marketing property whose cookie notice lists personalised marketing and advertising partners, and the current pages do not state which standards the lessons align to.
Topmarks is the UK primary-school answer to “financial literacy games for kids”. An independent company founded in 1998, it publishes free browser games by age band; the 5-to-7 money page alone lists seven, from the Toy Shop Money Game (pick the coins, work out the change, in GBP, USD, EUR or AUD) to Space Shoppers, with more on the 3-to-5 and 7-to-11 pages. These teach the arithmetic of money, coins and change. A child needs that before the decisions, and it is a separate skill from deciding what to do with the money. The website carries Google AdSense, managed through Google’s consent platform; the company’s own apps, its privacy policy says, “have no adverts, no in-app purchases or external links”, and the policy states compliance with the UK Children’s Code.
Do money apps actually teach kids anything? What the research can and cannot say
No vendor in the table publishes an outcome study of its lessons. Goalsetter’s business pages claim “an average 85% mastery score” with no sample or method; Greenlight and Acorns Early make no measured claim at all. The evidence that exists is about financial education in general, and it comes from three meta-analyses that disagree with each other.
- Fernandes, Lynch and Netemeyer (2014). Pooling 201 studies, the authors found that financial education interventions explained 0.1% of the variance in the financial behaviours studied, and that even large interventions with many hours of instruction had negligible effects on behaviour 20 months or more after they ended. This is the paper behind every “financial literacy classes don’t work” headline.
- Kaiser and Menkhoff (2020). Looking only at school programmes, 37 experiments and quasi-experiments, they found financial education raised students’ knowledge by about 0.33 standard deviations and their behaviour by about 0.07; restricted to the 18 randomised experiments, the figures were 0.15 and 0.07.
- Kaiser, Lusardi, Menkhoff and Urban (2022). The largest and most recent: 76 randomised experiments, more than 160,000 people, 33 countries. Financial education raised knowledge by about 0.20 standard deviations and behaviour by about 0.10, roughly the size of school interventions in maths or reading and, by their estimate, more than five times the Fernandes figure. The programmes averaged about 12 hours of instruction with a median of 7, and outcomes were measured a median of 5.9 months later. The authors found no strong evidence of rapid decay, and no evidence of long-run persistence either.
Three details in the 2022 paper matter for a parent choosing an app. First, children under 14 were only 7.5% of the estimates. Second, for that group the behaviour effect was the smallest of any age, 0.06 standard deviations, while the knowledge effect was the largest, about 0.28, though from only 15 estimates in seven studies and with wide uncertainty. Third, none of the 76 experiments tested a phone app; they tested classrooms, workshops and counselling. A well-made lesson layer will probably raise what a child can answer on a quiz, by a modest and real amount. It will move what they do with money much less. Nobody has yet tested whether ten minutes of video and three questions does either. The evidence that does move behaviour in children is about handling real money: Bucciol and Veronesi found that a regular allowance with parental involvement raised adult saving, and that an allowance alone did not. The figures are collected in our kids and money statistics page and the saving research in how to teach kids to save money.
What age for a financial literacy app
The age floors in the table are set by product category, not by pedagogy: cards start at 5 or 6 because that is when a child can carry one, and quiz apps start at 10 because that is when a child can read a scenario question. The research floor is lower and the ceiling is earlier than the marketing suggests.
- Ages 3 to 5. The CFPB’s own view is that this age is too young for abstract money concepts, so its activities are about waiting and persisting. Topmarks’ 3-to-5 coin games and a picture book from the Money as You Grow shelf are the whole curriculum. No app is needed, and no app in the table serves this age except the free websites.
- Ages 6 to 8. Cambridge research for the UK Money Advice Service found core money habits largely formed by seven, which is why our age-by-age guide starts earlier than most lists. The products that fit are a story, coins to count and a jar or ledger of real pocket money. Video-and-quiz layers at this age are reading tests; a card is a tool for a problem the child does not have yet.
- Ages 8 to 12. Quiz layers fit this age, and this is also where the behaviour evidence is weakest, so pair them with something the child does with real money: a weekly allowance they record, a goal they wait for, a purchase they ask about. The allowance app without a debit card page covers the ledger half.
- Ages 13 and up. Greenlight Level Up and the Acorns Early YouTube curriculum are written up to the national standards for high school, Fiscally starts at 10, and this is the age when a card adds real practice. The missing piece is a budget the teenager can see against a limit, which is the budget app for teens question, and the first-year plan in how to teach a teenager about money.
Who writes the lessons, and what “standards-aligned” means
Three vendors in the table say their content is built on or aligned to the National Standards for Personal Financial Education, written jointly by the Jump$tart Coalition and the Council for Economic Education. The standards are real and public: they set out what a student should know about earning, spending, saving, investing, credit and risk at grades 4, 8 and 12. Alignment, however, is a claim the vendor makes about itself. Neither Jump$tart nor the Council certifies apps, and none of the three listings names the educator who wrote the lessons; Greenlight’s launch release named a director of education, a certified financial education instructor, which is the closest any gets. The same applies in reverse to the vendors who claim nothing: Fiscally and CapKin name no standards body, and a parent should weigh that too.
The practical test is simpler than the standards. Can you read every lesson your child will see before they see it? Greenlight and Fiscally let parents monitor progress; CapKin shows a parent every story, quiz and AI lesson in full; the CFPB and Visa material is written for the parent in the first place. If the answer is no, the alignment claim is the only thing you have, and it is the vendor’s.
Ads and a child’s data: read the store label before the lesson
Apple requires each developer to file what its app collects and whether any of it is used to track the user across other companies’ apps and websites; Google Play has an equivalent data-safety section. Those labels are not verified by the stores, but they are the only comparable statement every vendor has to make, so they are the column we used. Greenlight’s label files identifiers for tracking and, under “developer’s advertising or marketing”, data linked to the user that includes purchases, financial information, precise location, contacts and search history. Acorns Early files identifiers and usage data for tracking. BusyKid files identifiers for tracking. Rooster files no tracking category but lists advertising or marketing among the purposes for payment information, coarse location, name and email. Fiscally files an email address and a user ID. Each label describes the whole app, and a kids’ money app is one account that parent and child share. The label is what the family hands over for the lessons.
The free resources split the same way. A government web page asks for no account and shows no advertising. Visa’s and Topmarks’ websites are ad-funded or marketing properties, which is how they are free; Topmarks keeps its downloadable apps ad-free and says so. CapKin shows no ads, sends no push notifications or email to children, and stores for a child a display name, a birth year a parent may set, the child’s entries, goals and lesson and quiz activity; the full posture is on the children’s privacy page. In the US, any app that knowingly collects data from a child under 13 falls under COPPA, which is why most of the card apps make the parent the account holder and the child a cardholder; the label still describes the household.
Five questions to ask before you call it a lesson
- What happens when my child taps Learn? A video and a quiz, a story, a game, a worksheet for me, or nothing. If the vendor’s page cannot tell you, assume the last.
- How much of it is there? Only one paid app in this table publishes a count. A child who finishes the content in a fortnight has a card with a subscription, not a course.
- What does a wrong answer do? Re-teach the fact, or cost a life. Both are defensible; the second is a game mechanic and should be called one.
- Does the lesson touch money my child holds? The behaviour evidence for children is about handling real money with a parent involved. A lesson that stays on the screen will move what they know, not what they do.
- What does the reward reward? Coins for correct answers reward answering. Badges for a saving streak reward saving. Read the terms to see which, and whether the coins are redeemable for anything.
How this works in CapKin
The limits first. CapKin has no card, no bank connection and no way to move money, so it is not an alternative to a card for a teenager who spends alone. The story course is for ages 6 to 8 and two of its six chapters are published; the discoveries and weekly quiz are for ages 8 to 12; there is nothing written for teenagers beyond the member role in the family budget. The interface is in English. It runs in a web browser and installs as a web app, so there is no app-store listing or label to compare. A child uses it only through a parent’s household account. It is in beta and free while it is, and paid plans have not been announced.
What it does is put the lesson on the child’s own money. A child has a capture-only role: they log what they spend, each entry is saved as pending and counts toward nothing until the household owner approves, corrects or rejects it with a note. They keep their own ledger of the pocket money they receive, set savings goals a parent can lock, and earn badges for what they do with money, with none for opening the app. The teaching layer is the one in the table: Beaver Trails for 6-to-8s, a discovery a day and a weekly quiz for 8-to-12s, one weekly AI lesson from the child’s own figures that a parent can preview and switch off, and a question of the week that parent and child both answer. Course and quiz content is hand-written and never AI-generated, and every word a child will see can be read by a parent first. What each age gets is on the kids page; every product claim is stated in full on the product facts page.
Sources
- Greenlight. Level Up page (greenlight.com/level-up), read 16 October 2026: “the financial literacy game for kids and teens”; “bite-sized challenges” “packed with videos, minigames, and questions”; “beyond K-12 national standards for personal financial education”; no count of challenges or levels, no age range; “Plans start at just $5.99/month for the whole family.” Level Up Program Terms, last updated 16 January 2024: coins awarded by difficulty and percentage correct; a score below 70% costs a life, seven lives reset after a waiting period; coins “are not cash or a cash equivalent” and exchange for “other tangible rewards”.
- Greenlight launch coverage. PYMNTS, 6 January 2023, and Crowdfund Insider, 12 January 2023, reporting the Greenlight press release: challenges with videos, minigames and “multiple-choice, true or false, and scenario questions”; coins, XP and stars by percentage correct; badges per level; curriculum covering earning, spending, saving, investing, credit, income and taxes, built “beyond the National Standards for K-12 Personal Financial Education” of the Jump$tart Coalition and the Council for Economic Education; available to “all Greenlight customers on all subscription plans”; quotes from Jennifer Seitz, Certified Financial Education Instructor and Director of Education.
- Apple App Store. Greenlight: For Families (Greenlight Financial Technology, Inc.), read 16 October 2026: rated 4+; plans Core $5.99, Max $9.98, Infinity $14.98, Family Shield $24.98 a month; “Play Greenlight Level Up, the financial literacy game built by education experts”; App Privacy: Data Used to Track You, identifiers; Data Linked to You includes purchases, financial info, precise and coarse location, contact info, contacts, search history, identifiers and usage data, with purposes including developer’s advertising or marketing. About 490,000 ratings, 4.8.
- Acorns. Acorns Early page, read 16 October 2026: “100+ educational Money Missions” on Early Lite ($8 monthly) and Acorns Gold ($12 monthly); “bite-sized, award-winning money lessons”; “for kids ages 6-18”. Press release, Irvine and New York, 21 January 2026: Money Missions “110 lessons across three levels”, “now adapted into 80+ YouTube videos”, “now free and accessible to every American family”; framework built “in close partnership with the National Standards for Personal Financial Education, developed by the Council for Economic Education and the Jump$tart Coalition”; “educator-designed, standards-aligned”.
- Apple App Store. Acorns Early: Kids Money App (Acorns Grow Incorporated), read 16 October 2026: rated 4+; Lite $8 a month, Gold $12 a month; “gamified educational quizzes and videos”; “Young people aged 6-18”; App Privacy: Data Used to Track You, identifiers and usage data; Data Linked to You, financial info, contact info, contacts, identifiers, usage data, diagnostics. About 10,000 ratings, 4.6.
- BusyKid. Home and pricing pages, read 16 October 2026: “For only $4/mo. (billed annually)”; up to five prepaid cards; “there may be some additional fees associated with the Kids Card”; “hands-on experience managing invisible money”; Earn, Save, Donate, Spend, Invest; no lessons, quizzes or videos described; the Education section’s link led to a third-party article. Apple App Store, BusyKid (BusyKid, Inc.), read 16 October 2026: “any child (5 to 17 years old)”; more than 60 charities; investing from $10 a trade; App Privacy: Data Used to Track You, identifiers; Data Not Linked to You includes physical address, email, name, phone, usage and diagnostics. About 1,500 ratings, 3.4.
- NatWest Rooster Money. Home and pricing pages, read 16 October 2026: Virtual Tracker labelled “Free”, parent 18+ and UK resident, with a “1 Month Trial” badge shown on the page; Rooster Card £1.99 a month or £19.99 a year, “ages 6-17”, feature list including “Educational content & resources”; parent guides on pocket money and “Talking to kids about Needs & Wants”. NatWest kids prepaid pocket money card page: NatWest customers get up to three cards free. Apple App Store (UK), NatWest Rooster Money (World Learning Ltd), read 16 October 2026: rated 4+; no lessons or quizzes described; Data Linked to You includes payment info, coarse location, email, name, user content, identifiers and usage data, purposes including developer’s advertising or marketing. About 11,000 ratings, 4.7.
- Goalsetter. FAQ page (goalsetter.co/faq), read 16 October 2026: “Goalsetter has transitioned away from the Goalsetter app”; “As of February 13, 2026, Goalsetter has closed all accounts and issued checks to the mailing address we have on file”; now “offering financial education to school systems, financial institutions and other organizations across the country”. Goalsetter features page: plan $3.95 a month “after a 30-day trial with no fee”; Weekly Finance Quizzes; Moneylingo Videos; Learn to Earn; Learn Before You Burn; “Financial Education from Kindergarten to College”. Goalsetter business pages: six modules; “Interactive videos, quizzes, games, and personalized learning paths”; “aligned with state and national standards”; “an average 85% mastery score” with no method stated. Google Play, Goalsetter: Invest & Bank, read 16 October 2026: listing live, updated 25 November 2025, “All quizzes are mapped to national financial literacy standards”. Apple iTunes lookup for app id 1440624866 returned no result in the US, UK or Canadian storefronts on 16 October 2026.
- Apple App Store. Fiscally: Learn Money Skills (seller Mayn Learning Inc), read 16 October 2026: free; rated 4+; “kids and teens (ages 10–18)”; “Engaging video lessons and quizzes cover the full journey: earning, spending, saving, sharing, and investing”; Budget Builder, Expense Tracker, Totals Tab, Wants vs Needs Calculator; parent monitoring, reminders, XP or allowance rewards; “This app hasn’t received enough ratings or reviews to display an overview”; App Privacy: Data Linked to You, email address and user ID; Data Not Linked to You, name; no tracking category. iPhone only.
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Money as You Grow (consumerfinance.gov/consumer-tools/money-as-you-grow), read 16 October 2026: three age groups, activities, conversation starters and reading guides; “based on and adapted, with permission, from Money as You Grow” by Beth Kobliner, recommended in 2010 by the President’s Advisory Council on Financial Capability; research with the Corporation for Enterprise Development and researchers from the University of Wisconsin–Madison and the University of Maryland, Baltimore County. Young children page: “Children ages 3 to 5 are usually too young to understand abstract financial concepts.” Bookshelf page: 16 books, “ages 4 – 10”, 13 with downloadable reading guides; “Printed publications are no longer available from the CFPB.”
- Visa. Practical Money Skills, about and For Educators pages (practicalmoneyskills.com/en-us), read 16 October 2026 via a proxy reader because the site returns 403 to automated readers: “one of Visa’s signature global financial education platforms”; website launched 1995–1999; “accessed by people in over 200 countries and territories”; “free, award-winning personal finance curriculum for educators”; lesson plans Pre-K–2 (4), grades 3–6 (4), grades 7–8 (6), grades 9–12 (22), college (10), students with disabilities (10), each with facilitator guide and participant activity; four Marvel comics with teacher’s guides; Financial Soccer “played 20 million times”; cookie notice referencing personalised marketing and advertising partners.
- Topmarks Online Ltd. About page: “small, independent UK company”, “Founded in 1998”, “free educational resources online” for “primary-age children”. Money games, 5–7 years page, read 16 October 2026 via a proxy reader: “These free money games can help children who are learning to use UK money and USD, EUR, AUD currencies”; seven games listed (Toy Shop Money Game, Coins Game, Coconut Ordering, Cashing In, Pay using 1 coin, Price Lists, Space Shoppers). Privacy policy, updated 19 August 2026: Google AdSense via Google’s Consent Management Platform; “Our apps have no adverts, no in-app purchases or external links”; states compliance with GDPR and “the ICO’s Age Appropriate Design Code, also known as the Children’s Code”.
- Kaiser, T., Lusardi, A., Menkhoff, L. & Urban, C. (2022). Financial education affects financial knowledge and downstream behaviors. Journal of Financial Economics, 145(2), 255–272. Figures quoted from the NBER Working Paper 27057 version (April 2020): 76 randomised experiments, more than 160,000 participants; mean effect on financial behaviours 0.1003 SD (95% CI 0.071–0.129); on financial knowledge 0.204 SD (0.152–0.255); children under 14 are 7.5% of estimates, with behaviour effect 0.064 SD and knowledge effect 0.2763 SD from 15 estimates in seven studies (CI 0.0076–0.545); mean 11.71 and median 7 hours of instruction; median follow-up 25.8 weeks; “approximately 5.5 times larger than the estimate reported in Fernandes et al. (2014)”; no strong evidence of rapid decay and no support for long-run sustainability. GFLEC summary page: 33 countries on six continents.
- Kaiser, T. & Menkhoff, L. (2020). Financial education in schools: A meta-analysis of experimental studies. Economics of Education Review, 78, 101930. 37 (quasi-)experiments; effects of +0.33 SD on financial knowledge and +0.07 SD on financial behaviours; 18 randomised experiments only, about 0.15 SD and 0.07 SD.
- Fernandes, D., Lynch, J. G. & Netemeyer, R. G. (2014). Financial Literacy, Financial Education, and Downstream Financial Behaviors. Management Science, 60(8), 1861–1883. 168 papers covering 201 studies; interventions explain 0.1% of the variance in financial behaviours; effects decay, with negligible effects 20 months or more after even large interventions.
- Bucciol, A. & Veronesi, M. (2014). Teaching children to save: What is the best strategy for lifetime savings? Journal of Economic Psychology, 45, 1–17. Whitebread, D. & Bingham, S. (2013). Habit Formation and Learning in Young Children. University of Cambridge for the Money Advice Service.
- CapKin product facts, last verified 4 August 2026, and the course, discovery, quiz and family-question content bundled in the app on 16 October 2026: two of six Beaver Trails chapters published with six levels each; a pool of 300 hand-written discoveries; 104 family questions; up to two AI-written discovery days a week, never added to the fact book or the quiz.
Frequently asked questions
- Is there an app that teaches kids about money?
- Yes, but fewer than the lists suggest. As of 16 October 2026, Greenlight (Level Up: videos and quiz challenges, from $5.99 a month), Acorns Early (Money Missions: 110 video-and-quiz lessons, $8 a month, with 80+ of the videos free on YouTube), Fiscally (free video lessons and quizzes for ages 10 to 18, iPhone only) and CapKin (a hand-written story course for 6 to 8s and daily discoveries for 8 to 12s on the child's own pocket money, free during beta) all contain lessons. BusyKid and NatWest Rooster Money describe no lessons, quizzes or videos for children; they teach through chores, a balance and a card. Goalsetter closed its consumer app on 13 February 2026.
- What is the best app to teach kids about money?
- It depends on the age and on what you mean by teach. For a 6-to-8-year-old, a story with one idea per episode and a jar or ledger of real pocket money fits the research on when habits form; CapKin is built for that and so is the CFPB's free picture-book shelf. For 8 to 12, a video-and-quiz layer such as Acorns Early's Money Missions or Greenlight Level Up adds knowledge, and the free YouTube version of Money Missions needs no subscription. For teenagers, those two are written up to the national high-school standards, Fiscally is free from age 10, and a card becomes useful practice. Only Acorns Early publishes how many lessons it has.
- Is there a free app that teaches kids about money?
- Three routes. Fiscally is a free iPhone app for ages 10 to 18 with video lessons, quizzes and a budget builder. CapKin is free during beta, a web app with a story course for 6-to-8s and daily discoveries for 8-to-12s, with no card and no ads. And since January 2026 Acorns Early's Money Missions curriculum, more than 80 videos, is free on YouTube without the $8-a-month app. The best free material is not an app at all: the CFPB's Money as You Grow activities and reading guides, Visa's Practical Money Skills lesson plans and, in the UK, Topmarks' coin games.
- Do money apps actually teach kids anything?
- The lessons probably teach knowledge, modestly; the evidence that they change behaviour is weak, and no vendor has published a study of its own app. Across 76 randomised experiments on financial education, Kaiser, Lusardi, Menkhoff and Urban (2022) found knowledge rose about 0.20 standard deviations and behaviour about 0.10; for children under 14 the behaviour effect was 0.06. Those programmes averaged about 12 hours of instruction and none was a phone app. The behaviour evidence that does hold for children is about handling real money with a parent involved, which is why a lesson attached to a child's own allowance is a safer bet than one that stays on the screen.
- What age is right for a financial literacy app?
- Later than the apps allow and earlier than most parents start. Most card apps accept children from 5 or 6 and quiz apps from about 10. The CFPB says 3-to-5-year-olds are usually too young for abstract money concepts, so at that age the curriculum is coin games and picture books. Cambridge research found core money habits largely formed by seven, which argues for stories and real pocket money from about six. Video-and-quiz layers suit 8 to 12 if paired with money the child actually holds, and from 13 the high-school-standard content in Greenlight and Acorns Early, plus a card, is age-appropriate.
- What are financial literacy games for kids?
- Two different things share the name. Coin-and-change games, such as Topmarks' free Toy Shop Money Game and Coins Game for ages 3 to 11, teach the arithmetic of money: recognising coins, paying, giving change. Decision games, such as Greenlight Level Up's challenges with minigames and lives, or Visa's football-themed Financial Soccer quiz, teach concepts like budgeting and credit through questions. The first kind is a prerequisite for the second. Neither has been shown in a randomised trial to change what a child does with real money; the evidence for that comes from a regular allowance with parental involvement.
- What is Greenlight Level Up and how does it work?
- Level Up is the financial literacy game inside the Greenlight app, launched in January 2023. Lessons are challenges: a short video, then multiple-choice, true-or-false and scenario questions with minigames. Players earn coins, XP and stars by the percentage answered correctly and a badge for each level; a score below 70% costs one of seven lives, and the coins can be exchanged for rewards but have no cash value. Greenlight says the curriculum goes beyond the Jump$tart and Council for Economic Education national standards and is included on all plans, which start at $5.99 a month. It does not publish how many challenges or levels exist, or a minimum age.
- What are Acorns Early Money Missions?
- Money Missions are Acorns Early's in-app lessons, formerly GoHenry's: short videos followed by quiz questions, described on the product page as 100+ missions and in a January 2026 press release as 110 lessons across three levels, designed with educators around the Jump$tart and Council for Economic Education national standards. They are included in Early Lite at $8 a month and Acorns Gold at $12 for children aged 6 to 18. Since January 2026 more than 80 of the lessons have also been posted free on YouTube, so the videos no longer require the subscription; the in-app quizzes and the card do.
- Does BusyKid teach financial literacy?
- Not through lessons. BusyKid's site and App Store listing describe chores that pay allowance on Fridays, automatic splits into saving and donating, a prepaid Visa for spending and stock investing from $10 a trade, for children aged 5 to 17 at $4 a month billed annually. Neither mentions a lesson, quiz, video or course, and the site's Education link led to a third-party article when we checked on 16 October 2026. The teaching is the loop itself: work, wait for Friday, watch the split. That is a real lesson, but it is not a curriculum, and lists that file BusyKid under apps that teach kids about money are describing the card.
- What happened to Goalsetter?
- Goalsetter closed its consumer app. Its FAQ page states that as of 13 February 2026 it closed all accounts and mailed cheques for remaining balances, and that the company has moved to selling financial education to school systems, financial institutions and other organisations. Its iOS app no longer appeared in Apple's US, UK or Canadian storefronts on 16 October 2026, though a Google Play listing last updated in November 2025 was still visible. Goalsetter was known for a weekly quiz that froze the child's debit card until it was taken; no consumer app we could find now offers that mechanic.
- Is CFPB Money as You Grow an app?
- No. Money as You Grow is a set of free web pages from the US Consumer Financial Protection Bureau for parents and caregivers, in three age bands: young children (3 to 5), school-age to preteens, and teens to young adults. Each band has activities in earning, saving, planning and shopping, conversation starters around real decisions such as getting a pet or paying bills, and a bookshelf of 16 picture books for ages 4 to 10 with 13 downloadable reading guides. It was adapted from Beth Kobliner's programme recommended by the President's Advisory Council on Financial Capability in 2010. There is no account, no app and no advertising.
- Is Topmarks free and safe for kids?
- Topmarks is a free UK educational website run by an independent company founded in 1998, with browser maths games by age band, including money games for 3 to 5, 5 to 7 and 7 to 11 that teach coins, paying and giving change in GBP, USD, EUR and AUD. The website is funded by Google AdSense advertising, managed through Google's consent platform; the company's downloadable apps, by its privacy policy, have no adverts, in-app purchases or external links. The policy, updated in August 2026, states compliance with GDPR and the UK Children's Code. The games teach the arithmetic of money, not financial decisions.
- Does CapKin have a financial literacy course for kids?
- Yes, with limits. Beaver Trails is a hand-written, illustrated story course for ages 6 to 8 with read-aloud narration, one key idea per level, a three-question quiz that re-teaches a wrong answer, a try-it task and a conversation starter; two of six chapters, 12 levels, are published as of October 2026. For ages 8 to 12 there is one discovery a day from a pool of 300, a fact book and a weekly quiz, plus one weekly AI lesson built from the child's own ledger that a parent can preview and switch off. It runs on the child's real pocket money inside the family budget, in English, in a web browser, with no card, no ads and no notifications to children. It is free during beta. Paid plans have not been announced.